Offshore Base Cuxhaven

Welcome to the Offshore Base Cuxhaven website!

As the supplies of oil, gas and coal will run out in the foreseeable future, people all over the world are searching for new energy sources. The power of the wind, however, will never run out, and more and more countries are pursuing this opportunity. Europe is in the lead in this pursuit, and one of the largest projects started a few years ago in Cuxhaven.

 

With substantial support from the State of Lower Saxony and the EU, an infrastructure was created here to build and ship all of the components necessary for offshore wind turbine generators. In recent years, more than € 80 million has been invested in the infrastructure of the Offshore Base Cuxhaven, and in addition, private investors in the offshore industry have invested more than € 100 million in Cuxhaven during 2007 and 2008. Additional private and public investments are forthcoming in the next few years.

Cuxhaven with its location directly at the mouth of the Elbe and its deep water port has a long maritime tradition. With its efficient port facility, it is therefore a central position in the value-added chain of offshore wind energy.

 

The City of Cuxhaven has aligned itself optimally to the economic opportunities of renewable energy, and with a number of unique characteristics, has positioned itself as the leading offshore base port on the German North Sea coast. Along with its central location to the offshore wind parks in the North Sea and the Offshore Base Port directly on the Elbe with water depths sufficient for seagoing vessels, Cuxhaven also has an Offshore heavy load platform in the direct vicinity of the offshore base since mid-2007. In addition to the Cuxhaven location, there are industrial and commercial zones near the port with a high level of maritime competency including comprehensive offerings for "Professional and vocational qualification" providing an optimal base structure for activities of the offshore industry.

Deutsches Offshore-Industrie-Zentrum Cuxhaven

Der ideale Offshore-Standort

Weltweit suchen die Menschen nach neuen Quellen für Energie - weil Öl, Gas und Kohle in absehbarer Zeit versiegen werden. Unendlich aber ist die Kraft des Windes - diese Chance nutzen immer mehr Staaten. Ganz vorne dabei sind die Europäer - eines der größten Vorhaben begann vor einigen Jahren in Cuxhaven.

 

Mit großer Unterstützung des Landes Niedersachsen und der EU wurde hier eine Infrastruktur geschaffen, um Offshore-Windkraftanlagen mit allen erforderlichen Komponenten zu bauen und zu verschiffen. Mehr als 600 Mio. € sind in den letzten Jahren in die Infrastruktur der Offshore Basis Cuxhaven privat und öffentlich investiert worden. Weitere private/öffentliche Investitionen werden in den nächsten Jahren in Cuxhaven realisiert.

 

Cuxhaven verfügt mit seiner Lage direkt am seeschifftiefen Wasser der Elbmündung über eine lange maritime Tradition - als leistungsstarker Hafenstandort kommt Cuxhaven daher eine zentrale Stellung in der Wertschöpfungskette der Offshore-Windenergie zu.

Die Stadt Cuxhaven hat sich auf die wirtschaftlichen Chancen der Erneuerbaren Energien optimal eingestellt und sich zum führenden Offshore-Basishafen - dem Deutschen Offshore Industriezentrum Cuxhaven - an der Deutschen Nordseeküste entwickelt, der eine Reihe von Alleinstellungsmerkmalen aufweist: neben der zentralen Lage zu den Offshore-Windparks in der Nordsee und dem Offshore-Basishafen mit seinen Terminals I + II direkt am seeschifftiefen Wasser der Elbe, einem 500t-Portalkran sowie spezielle Schwerlaststraßen verfügt Cuxhaven seit Mitte 2007 auch über eine Offshore-Schwerlastplattform - in unmittelbarer Nähe des Geländes der Offshore Basis. Hafennahe Industrie- und Gewerbeflächen, eine hohe maritime Kompetenz sowie umfassende Maßnahmen im Bereich "Berufliche Qualifizierung" bieten zudem am Standort Cuxhaven eine optimale Basisstruktur für die Aktivitäten der Offshore-Branche.